Supporting Canadian Athletes

Leadership Award


The AthletesCAN Leadership Award, presented by Purolator Inc., was created in 2005 to recognize the contributions of athlete leaders. The award is presented annually to a national team athlete or former national team athlete who has made a significant contribution to sport and to athletes through their involvement as an effective athlete representative, advocate, change agent or bridge builder for athletes within the sport community.

Click here to submit a nomination for the Leadership Award!

Past AthletesCAN Leadership Award Recipients

2014 – Todd Nicholson (Sledge Hockey)
2013 – Charmaine Crooks (Athletics)
2012 – Mark Tewksbury (Swimming)
2011 – Michael Smith (Wrestling)
2010 – Nathalie Lambert (Speed skating)
2009 – Sami Jo Small (Hockey)
2008 – Iain Brambell (Rowing)
2007 – Bobby Milroy (Badminton)
2006 – Beckie Scott (Cross-country skiing)
2005 – Lori Johnstone (Racquetball) and Lilo Ljubisic (Athletics)

AthletesCAN Leadership Award Selection Process

The nominations will be reviewed and a recipient will be selected by a selection committee comprised of members of the AthletesCAN board and/or former AthletesCAN Leadership Award recipients.

1.  Each member of the selection committee will receive copies of all completed entries.

2.  Selection committee members will rank their top three candidates (at their discretion) and provide them to AthletesCAN.

3.  AthletesCAN will assign points based on rankings.

1.  1st place = 5 points
2.  2nd place = 3 points
3.  3rd place = 2 points

4.  Points will be tallied and the candidate with the most points will be the recipient of the current AthletesCAN Leadership Award.

5.  In the case of a tie, the candidate with the most first place rankings will be selected.

The recipient will receive an all-expenses paid trip to attend the AthletesCAN Forum where they will be recognized at the 2015 Excellence Celebration on Saturday, September 26th. There is no monetary prize associated with this award.

Canadian Website Hosting provided by Port 80 Solutions