10th Anniversary PRESTIGE Award Recipients Announced at Sport Events Congress 2016

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 9.31.59 AM

March 8, 2016

CSTA - March 7, 2016, (Ottawa, Ontario): The nine recipients of the 2016 Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance (CSTA) PRESTIGE Awards represent the wide spectrum of activities held during 2015, the Year of Sport in Canada.  They include both major multi-sport, multi-city international events, as well as local events, volunteers and champions of the sport tourism industry.

“Once again we had a tremendous group of finalists for the PRESTIGE awards, and it was difficult to narrow it down to the final recipients,” said Rick Traer, CEO, Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance. “Congratulations to all those receiving PRESTIGE awards. Each one is an outstanding example of the dedication and excellence throughout the sport tourism industry in Canada. You have all made significant contributions to maintain Canada’s reputation as one of the world’s leading sport hosting nations.”

For the first time, there was a tie in one of the categories, the CSTA International Sport Event of the Year Award presented by Tourism TorontoIt will be jointly shared by the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 (Vancouver, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Ottawa, Montreal, Moncton) and the Toronto 2015 Pan Am / Parapan American Games (Toronto, Ont.)

The 10th anniversary PRESTIGE Awards were presented on Monday, March 7, 2016 during the CSTA’s annual Sport Events Congress  at the Westin Hotel in Ottawa at a gala luncheon, emceed by broadcast journalist Scott Russell, host of CBC Sports Road to the Olympic Games.

PHOTOS (low and high res) for editorial use are available atwww.canadiansporttourism.com.

#PRESTIGE │ #SEC2016 │  #sporttourism

@CdnSportTourism  │ @SportEventsCong

Filed in: