Canadian Sport Awards History




The Canadian Sport Awards were established in 1972 by modern day co-founders True Sport, Canadian Centre for Ethics and Sport, Canada Games Council, Commonwealth Sport Canada, and AthletesCAN to recognize and showcase excellence in Canadian sport. Since then, the CSA evolved over time to become the premier recognition event for national sporting excellence. After the 40th anniversary, the awards experienced a five-year hiatus. In 2017, AthletesCAN successfully acquired the rights to revive this staple event to once again bring together members of the sport community to honour the spirit, drive, and commitment of Canada’s international level athletes, coaches, volunteers, and sport leaders.

Over nearly 50 years of history, the Canadian Sport Awards have recognized various former categories in performance, leadership and corporate excellence.

As the completion of our archives remains a work in progress, if you have a correction or an addition, please email: Alan Hudes, Manager, Communications and Sport Partnerships  ([email protected]).

AthletesCAN Social Responsibility Award


The AthletesCAN Social Responsibility Award honours a current or retired national team athlete who used their platform to make a positive impact in their sport or community at the local, national, or international level. It recognizes the significant contributions of an athlete leader in the areas of diversity, equity, inclusion, community, volunteer and/or social change initiatives.

The award's legacy now also includes the history of the Inclusion: Obliterating Barriers Award.

Year name sport aWARD
2021 Mandy Bujold Boxing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2020 Hayley Wickenheiser Hockey AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
  Quinn Soccer Inclusion
2019 Evan Dunfee Athletics AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
  Michael Linklater Basketball Inclusion
2018 Mark Tewksbury Swimming AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
  Billy Bridges / Sami Jo Small Hockey Inclusion
2017 Brad Spence Alpine Skiing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2016 Chandra Crawford Nordic Skiing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2015 Jane (Rumball) Thornton Rowing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2014 Kyle Shewfelt Gymnastics AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2013 Kyle Miller Lacrosse AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2012 Philippe Beaudry Fencing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2011 Jennifer Heil Freestyle Skiing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2010 Clara Hughes Speed Skating / Cycling AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
2009 Adam Kreek Rowing AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
  Andrew Haley Swimming AthletesCAN Social Responsibility
  Scott Fraser-Dauphinee Basketball AthletesCAN Social Responsibility




















































True Sport Award


The True Sport Award recognizes an inspirational Canadian citizen who exemplifies true sport values of fairness, excellence, inclusion, and fun in a meaningful way. Through the pursuit of sporting excellence this Canadian hero showcases dedication, perseverance, sportsmanship, respect for others, and a true love of sport. 

year Name sport
2021 Evan Dunfee Athletics
2020 Laurent Duvernay-Tardif Football
2019 Christine Sinclair Soccer
2018 Jill Officer  Curling








#AthleteVoice Award: Rep of the Year


The #AthleteVoice Award recognizes the significant contributions of an athlete representative within their national sport organization, multi-sport organization or international sport organization. The athlete representation movement is only as good as the athletes chosen by their teammates to effect positive change. This award highlights the initiative, courage, and leadership of these individuals.

year Name sport
2021 Karen Paquin Rugby
2020 Celina Toth Diving
2019 Beckie Scott Cross-Country Skiing / WADA Athlete Council
2018 Inaki Gomez Athletics










Bruce Kidd Leadership Award


The Bruce Kidd Leadership Award is presented annually to a retired national team athlete, sport leader, or organization, who has provided meaningful contributions to the betterment of sport as a leader, advocate, change agent, or builder. This award highlights the ground breaking work that contributed to the betterment of sport through inspirational leadership, innovative practices, and/or positive influence on the Canadian sport sector. 

The award is named in honour of 1968 Canadian Sports Hall of Fame Inductee Dr. Bruce Kidd, who has made enormous contributions to Canada’s sporting community as an athlete, advocate, author, historian, and academic. The award’s legacy now also includes the history of both the AthletesCAN Leadership Award and the Leadership in Sport Award.

Year Name sport Award
2021 Jennifer Heil Freestyle Skiing Bruce Kidd
2020 Marnie McBean Rowing Bruce Kidd
  Jean Laroche Para Athletics (Coach) Leadership in Sport
2019 Stephanie Dixon Para Swimming Bruce Kidd
  Michael Slipchuk Skate Canada Leadership in Sport
2018 Chandra Crawford Cross-Country Skiing Bruce Kidd
  Michele O'Keefe Canada Basketball Leadership in Sport
2017 Claire Carver-Dias Artistic Swimming AthletesCAN Leadership
2016 Chantal Petitclerc Para Athletics AthletesCAN Leadership
2015 Curt Harnett Cycling AhletesCAN Leadership
2014 Todd Nicholson Para Hockey AthletesCAN Leadership
2013 Chairmaine Crooks Athletics AthletesCAN Leadership
2012 Mark Tewksbury Swimming AthletesCAN Leadership
2011 Michael Smith Wrestling AthletesCAN Leadership
  Tom Quinn N/A Leadership in Sport
2010 Nathalie Lambert Speed Skating AthletesCAN Leadership
2009 Sami Jo Small Hockey AthletesCAN Leadership
2008 Iain Brambell Rowing AthletesCAN Leadership
2007 Bobby Milroy Badminton AthletesCAN Leadership
2006 Beckie Scott Cross-Country Skiing AthletesCAN Leadership
2005 Lori Johnstone Racquetball AthletesCAN Leadership
2005 Lilo Ljubisic Athletetice AthletesCAN Leadership
2005 Mark Lowry COC Leadership in Sport
1998 Greg Edelow Wrestling Bruce Kidd
1997 Jean-Pierre Cantin Judo Bruce Kidd
1996 Curt Harnett Cycling Bruce Kidd
1995 Charmaine Crooks Athletics Bruce Kidd







































































People's Choice Award

Created in 2020, the Most Viral Moment Award honours a current or retired national team athlete who has captured the
virtual world by storm. This award highlights the magic that lives within sport to inspire and motivate all Canadians
through innovative use of a digital platform, captivating athletic performance, or who’s digital actions have been a force
for good

In 2018 and 2019, the award recognized the Performance of the Year

year Name sport
2021 Women's Soccer Team Olympic gold medal
2020 Danielle Kisser Para Swimming - DIY Pool
2019 Bianca Andreescu Tennis
2018 Tessa Virtue / Scott Moir Figure Skating









For all other former CSA categories, click here